THE Association of Irish Racecourses (AIR), which represents those who own and/or operate all 26 racecourses nationwide, has been in existence since 1964. In 2005, the organisation was incorporated as a company limited by guarantee.

It is a non-profitmaking organisation and its membership has, since its inception, comprised all Irish racecourses. It is currently run by a board of directors who are elected by the racecourse members, and only representatives of member racecourses are eligible for election.