What: Hurling for Cancer Research 2022

Where: St Conleth’s Park, Newbridge, Co. Kildare

When: Tuesday, August 16, throw-in at 6pm

The annual Hurling For Cancer Research fundraiser in aid of the Irish Cancer Society returns to the pitch for the first time since 2019 this Tuesday, August 16. Throw-in is at 6pm.

A galaxy of sports stars including Ireland’s top hurlers and racing stars will line-out in St Conleth’s Park, Newbridge, Kildare, for a must-see battle between Davy Russell’s Best and Jim Bolger’s Stars.

Final panels have now been announced for the two teams, which include representatives from both of this year’s All Ireland Senior Hurling and Camogie champions alongside some of the greatest hurlers in the modern era.

Stars such as Cheltenham Gold Cup winner Rachael Blackmore, Boys in Green hero Paul McGrath, Dancing With The Stars hero Nina Carberry, RTÉ personalities Miriam O’Callaghan, Anne Doyle and Ted Walsh along with newly appointed Meath Senior Football Manager Colm O’Rourke will help to lead the umpiring and officiating for the most unique hurling match of the year.

GAA legends Michael Duignan and Ger Canning will provide match commentary.

Jim Bolger’s Stars

Selectors: Liam Cahill

Jim Bolger

Dave Bernie

Bainisteoir: Brian Cody

1 Damien Fitzhenry Wexford

2 Paul Murphy Kilkenny

3 Dan Morrissey Limerick

4 Jackie Tyrrell Kilkenny

5 Kyle Hayes Limerick

6 Richie Reid Kilkenny

7 Chris Crummey Dublin

8 Miriam Walsh Kilkenny

9 Darragh O'Donovan Limerick

10 Adrian Mullen Kilkenny

11 T J Reid Kilkenny

12 Tom Morrissey Limerick

13 Eddie Brennan Kilkenny

14 Richie Hogan Kilkenny

15 Stephen Hunt Wexford

16 Michael Fennelly Kilkenny

17 Aidan (Taggy) Fogarty Kilkenny

18 Ollie Canning Galway

19 John Mulhall Kilkenny

20 Brian Carroll Offaly

21 Drew Costello Kildare

22 Jack Sheridan Kildare

23 Eoin Cody Kilkenny

24 Tommy Walsh Kilkenny

25 Padraig Walsh Kilkenny

26 Eoin O'Hehir Kildare

27 Walter Walsh Kilkenny

28 Jamie Morrissey Kilkenny

29 Adam Morrissey Kilkenny

30 Cathal Keegan Kilkenny

31 Grace Mulhall Kilkenny

32 Anna Purcell Kilkenny

33 Conor Fogarty Kilkenny

34 James Dowling Kilkenny

35 Martin Storey Wexford

36 Larry O'Gorman Wexford

37 Shane O'Neill Kilkenny

38 Cathal Purcell Kilkenny

39 Noah Scully Kilkenny

40 Cormac Quirke Kilkenny

Davy Russell's Best

Selectors: Ursula Jacob

Shane Foley

Bainisteoir: Brian Cody

1 Brendan Cummins Tipperary

2 Davy Russell Cork

3 Matthew O'Hanlon Wexford

4 T J Ryan Limerick

5 Jamie Codd Wexford

6 Darragh Fitzgibbon Cork

7 Tim O'Mahony Cork

8 Kevin Foley Wexford

9 Ashling Thompson Cork

10 Liam Óg Mc Govern Wexford

11 Lee Chin Wexford

12 Peter Duggan Clare

13 Johnny Smack Tipperary

14 Patrick Horgan Cork

15 Willie Dunphy Laois

16 Cha Dwyer Laois

17 JJ Delaney Kilkenny

18 Gearoid Brouder Kerry

19 Mikey Fogarty Wexford

20 Simon Leacy Kildare

21 Frank Bass Kildare

22 Gavin Dowling Kildare

23 Connor King Cork

24 Johnny Fogarty Wexford

25 Dessie Hutchinson Waterford

26 Richie Condon Cork

27 David Doyle Tipperary

28 Sarah O'Connor Wexford

29 Ciara O'Connor Wexford

30 Johnny B Tipperary

31 Sean Flanagan Wexford

32 John Cullen Wexford

33 Mark Enright Limerick

34 Paddy Mc Kenna Kildare

35 Brian Cadigan Kilkenny

36 Ian Mc Carthy Galway

37 Darragh O'Keeffe Cork

38 Peter Downey Kilkenny

39 Cian Quirke Tipperary

40 Neil Ryan Tipperary

Organised by legendary racehorse trainer Jim Bolger and dual Aintree Grand National winning jockey Davy Russell, Hurling for Cancer Research has raised over €1.1m for the Society’s vital cancer research projects since it began in 2012.

Tickets costing €10 for adults and €15 for families, they are available on the gate and from www.HurlingForCancer.ie.

Photos will be issued on the night by Inpho, 01 708 8081.

For further information:

Ciarán D’Arcy, Irish Cancer Society Tel: 0857733608 E: cdarcy@irishcancer.ie

Barbara White, Horse Racing Ireland Tel: 087 2511482 E: bwhite@hri.ie